Happy First!

It’s the first day of a new month, September, so it’s an opportunity to start over no matter what your August was like, especially if it was a difficult month.  So take a deep breath, look around and find beauty in the simple things.  The trees are starting to look different as they lose some of their leaves and change color.  I see various shades of green and brown in my own back yard.  This morning as I did my morning ritual of Tai chi chih I saw birds—lots of birds, who were oblivious to my movements. There were bright yellow orioles, a red chested robin, iridescent hummingbirds, blue scrub jays and three pairs of yellow finches!  They went about their business eating from the feeders and the Chinese elm trees, grooming themselves, and drinking from the fountain at our little pond.  Some of the birds even bathed in the birdbath early in the morning.  How beautiful, I said to myself.  What a privilege to get to observe these amazing creatures through a bedroom window!  Happy First! to everyone, but especially Happy First Anniversary to my son, Marco and his lovely wife, Amy who were married exactly one year ago.  That’s definitely something to celebrate.

About amadairmaperez

Amada Irma Perez is an author, educator, motivational speaker and facilitator of writing groups. She has published the award-winning bilingual books: My Very Own Room/Mi propio cuartito, My Diary from Here to There/Mi Diario de aquí hasta allá, Nana's Big Surprise/Nana !Que sorpresa. She is currently working on a "how to" book: "My Handy Writing Book: A New Fun & Easy Way to Write Stories," a novel and a poetry book. She lives in Ventura, California.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

